Reading Intervention

High Noon Books: Hundreds of phonics-Based, hi-lo, and Lexiled reading materials
for at-risk, ESL, and struggling readers.


Professional Development

Arena Press: Teaching Reading Sourcebook,
Assessing Reading: Multiple Measures,and Word ID: Assessment Across
the Content Areas

Phonic Books: Totem Series

Catch-Up Readers

Readability Level: 1st Grade Readability
Recommended Ages: 8-14
Subject/Genre: Adventure Fantasy

Designed for older students, these books can be used to either teach or reinforce new and already learned decoding skills. All seven progressive phonics series feature action-packed stories divided into books with about 300 words each, with the conclusion of the story in each sets final book.

  • Designed for guided or independent reading
  • Ideal for practicing specific decoding patterns in the context of a larger narrative
  • Text is supported by color pictures on each page
  • Each book focuses on a set of sound-spellings for readers to practice
  • Action-packed stories in short books (about 300 words each)

    Totem Series

    The Totem Series is 12 fantasy/adventure stories for students ages 8 through 14 who would benefit from a beginning phonics program. This series starts at CVC/CVCC level text, then builds up reading skills in a step-by-step phonic progression, allowing practice and consolidation at each level. To promote interest, the series features one continuous story when read in sequence, with the conclusion in the final book.

  • Book 1: CVC, CVCC (CVC, CVCC)
  • Book 2: CVCC (CVC, CVCC, CCVC)
  • Book 3: CCVCC (CVC, CVCC, CCVCC)
  • Book 4: 'sh', 'ch', 'th' (sh, ch, th)
  • Book 5: 'ck', 'ng', 'qu', 'wh' (ck, ng, qu, wh)
  • Book 6: 'ae' (ai, ay, ae, a)
  • Book 7: 'ee' (ee, ea, e, y, ey)
  • Book 8: 'oe' (oe, ow, oa, o)
  • Book 9: 'er' (er, ir, ur)
  • Book 10: 'ow' (ow, ou)
  • Book 11: 'ie' (igh, ie, y, i)
  • Book 12: 'oo' (oo, ew, ue, u)

    Totem Series Workbook

    This spiral-bound photocopiable workbook includes 12 chapters which correspond to the 12 books in the reading series. Following the same phonic progression, it provides a variety of activities including wordbuilding, blending, segmenting, comprehension, and vocabulary exercises based on the characters and adventures in the Magic Belt Series

  • Sample Workbook Pages



    Item No.






    1 Set of 12 Books


    Accessories (Sold Separately)

    Item No.






    Totem Series Workbook


    See Also... (Sold Separately)


    Item No. / Product Title



    Phonic Books: Magic Belt Series



    Phonic Books: Talisman 1 Series



    Phonic Books: Complete Series



    Phonic Books: Moon Dogs Series Set 1



    Phonic Books: Rescue Series



    Phonic Books: Alba Series


    ©2018 Academic Therapy Publications. All rights reserved worldwide.   |   Top
    Specialists in Diagnostic Assessments, High Interest/Low Level Readers, and Special Education Products since 1965
    20 Leveroni Court, Novato, CA 94949-5746 • (800) 422-7249